4 Educators Named First-Year Teachers of the Year in WCPSS

Teachers from Reedy Creek, Ligon Magnet, Rolesville and Salem schools recognized
Classroom 1910012 1280

Every year, Wake County Public School System honors a group of outstanding teachers with the Diane Kent-Parker First-Year Teacher Award. These teachers are recognized for navigating the challenges of a new job with grace, skill and confidence. They serve as role models for their colleagues and inspiration for their students.

Principals can nominate any teacher who has made significant professional success in his or her initial year of teaching. Selection committee members review portfolios from nominees and observe them in their classrooms. Based on this rigorous selection process, the following teachers have received the 2018-19 Diane Kent-Parker First-Year Teacher Award: Cristina Chase Lane of Reedy Creek Elementary School, Caroline Markoch of Ligon Magnet Middle School, Joshua Heaney of Rolesville High School and Rachel Goudeau of Salem Elementary School.  These remarkable educators were recognized in their nominations for their rapport with students and coworkers, innovation, and ability to motivate perseverance in students.


Categories: Education, News